Milwaukee Bucks’ victory brings parity in the NBA

The recent triumphs of Bucks, Raptors and Clevelands in the NBA have increased the competitive balance of the National Basketball Association (NBA).

Milwaukee Bucks’ victory brings parity in the NBA
(Picture Credits:

“Let’s make the most of these years. After accepting a multi-year agreement with the Milwaukee Bucks in December of last year, Giannis Antetokounmpo remarked, “The show goes on, let’s get it.” Antetokounmpo makes it count and earns it around July 2021. The Bucks were named NBA Champions for the first time in 50 years after beating the Phoenix Suns 10-3 on the strength of his massive 50-point, 14-rebound, and five-block performance.

The presence of the Phoenix Suns and Milwaukee Bucks in the NBA 2021 finals portrays that the league has become more competitive in recent years. National Basketball Association commissioner Adam Silver has put on record that there is more parity in the league now as up and coming players and franchises could be seen in the NBA finals every year.

This year’s NBA Final wasn’t as hyped up as ‘New York vs Los Angeles’ as the Phoenix and Bucks don’t have an enormous global following. These teams have proven their worth this season by competing with the best of the best NBA teams. Both the teams had a very good regular season and Bucks showed their capabilities, skillsets, and mental strength by performing brilliantly in significant games.

Since the start of the 21st century, few teams have won the NBA season repeatedly. Milwaukee Bucks have won the crown after precisely half-a-century, since their last title triumph in 1971. This indicated a higher competitive balance in the NBA.

The Los Angeles Lakers, as presented in the graph above, with six trophies have been the most successful NBA team in the last two decades. They were extremely consistent in the first decade, winning five titles across ten years. Their next win came after 10 long years in 2020. They remain the only team to win three back-to-back championships (2000, 2001, 2002) in the 21st century.

The San Antonio Spurs have been the most prominent franchise after the Lakers since 2000. Spurs have won four championships, most of them coming between 2000-2009.

The Golden State Warriors and The Miami Heat have vanquished their rivals for most of the second decade – both winning the championship title thrice each. Warriors’ three victories came between 2015-2019. The most successful team in the second half of the decade, the Warriors were the only team to win two back-to-back championships (2017 and 2018).

Since 2016, three teams (Cleveland – 2016; Raptors – 2019; Bucks -2021) have amazed the world by winning the championship. That makes NBA more competitive and proves the point made by Silver that there are up and coming players and franchises every year.

The period between 2000 and 2015 can simply be defined as the Lakers’ and the Spurs’ era. Only three other teams – Celtics 2008; Mavericks 2011; and Pistons 2004) – could win the championship during these years. There was absolute domination by the top two teams and little competitive balance.

The results in recent years have proved that the competition in the NBA is more open now with a number of teams capable to win the championship. That is making the high-profile league more interesting.

NBA Season 2021-21

Start Date: 19th October 2021